Railway Statistics

The Railway Safety program at BC Safety Authority regulates railways that operate solely within British Columbia and have a Minister’s Certificate issued by the BC Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure. Provincial Railways are subject to the British Columbia Railway Act, Railway Safety Act and adopted Federal railway safety legislation. The Railway Safety Program regulates five classes of railways:

  • Common Carrier
  • Heritage
  • Commuter
  • Industrial
  • Industrial Sidings and Spurs.

Railway 2016 Statistics (YTD)

Railway 2015 Statistics

Railway 2014 Statistics

Railway 2013 Statistics